Lorem Ipsum

Hearts For the Arts

Griffin Area Arts Alliance
Heart for the Arts
A Celebration of Local Arts Organizations and Recognition of Individuals, Businesses and Organizations who Keep the Arts Alive in Griffin

In 2009, Griffin Area Arts Alliance President, Sande Cropsey, said “for some years the Arts Alliance has been considering a means to honor sponsors and volunteers. Beginning this year, a plaque with a photo of the recipient(s) will hang in the Griffin Regional Welcome Center for one year, at which time the photo will be awarded to the recipient.  Sponsors and volunteers are such a vital part of any arts organization; a means to honor and thank them is undeniably appropriate and necessary.  A “Heart for the Arts” is just one means to do so.”  Sue and Jerry Savage were the first recipients.

In 2012, the Arts Alliance added the recognition of a business that has excelled in its support for the development and advancement of the arts in the Griffin area.  The first Business Appreciation Plaque was presented to First National Bank of Griffin.

In 2016, each Arts Alliance member organization was invited to select a Volunteer of the Year from their organization to be recognized in addition to nominating arts supporters from their organization and/or the community for the Arts Achievement Award and an area business/organization for the Arts Appreciation Plaque.  The Arts Achievement Award honors deep commitment and sustained contributions to the arts and cultural community in the Griffin area.  It recognizes those who have shown leadership, vision, and commitment to the growth and support of the arts; provided financial or in-kind support to local arts organizations; or worked to keep area arts viable.  Nominees may include individuals from non-profit or for-profit organizations.  The Arts Alliance Committee then selects the Arts Achievement and Business Awardees.

Arts Achievement Awardees:
2009 – Sue and Jerry Savage
2010 – Mettelen Moore
2011/12 – Joe McKaughan and Luisa and Bob Schmutzler
2013 – Denel James
2014 – Debbie Hammond
2015 – Carolyn Byrd and James Johnston
2016 – Brad Fowler
2017 – Norma Richardson
2018 – Mitch and Lori Flanders and Angie Mankin